Getting the hoisting license that Massachusetts requires for most industrial commercial lifting work can expand your career opportunities. An MA hoisting license opens up positions for town jobs, on construction sites, in warehouse and shipping facilities, for industrial and commercial purposes, and many other industries. There are over a dozen different types of hoisting licenses depending on the equipment you plan to operate, so knowing the facts is essential to successfully secure the right license.
Know When a Mass Hoisting License Is Required
An MA hoisting license is required for anyone operating a crane, lift, or any other piece of equipment that can raise over 10 feet and holds more than 500 pounds, or over ¼ of the material. Finally, any equipment with a bucket capable of holding more than .25 cubic yards will need a licensed operator. Most agricultural and construction front-end loaders meet this last requirement, substantially extending the category of workers who need licensing.
How to Get an MA Hoisting License
Since the state-administered exam covers many different hoisting regulations and rules, you’ll need to study before taking the exam. The high-quality online training program available from At Leisure will teach you all the essentials for a high score on the test. At Leisure’s Massachusetts hoisting license training course was the first online continuing education program approved by the state. They’re also the Preferred Vendor of the American Rental Association of Massachusetts because they stand behind their course and offer plenty of support. You’ll even get a discount on the DOT medical certificate required for the license that will save you half or more of the usual expense. There’s no specific training or classroom time required for the license, but the state recommends studying:
- State Law Requirements
- Dig Safe Requirements
- OSHA 1926 and 1910 Requirements
- Safe Rigging and Trench Requirements
- And Many More Safety Regulations
Applying and Taking the MA Hoisting License Exam
You’ll need a state-issued ID like a driver’s license to apply for your hoisting license from Massachusetts. The Department of Transportation also provides a medical certificate you’ll need to submit with the application, along with a two-inch square photograph. The cost for the application and exam is $75 and must be submitted in the form of a check or money order. At Leisure makes the submission process easy for customers by offering electronic application submission but documentation can also be submitted by mail or in person at the local branch of the state licensing office. Then, the board will schedule you for sitting the exam. The exams are usually scheduled for the last week of each month.
Mass Hoisting License Renewal Requirements
It’s not enough to simply pass the exam for the hoisting license MA provides and use it for decades. The state requires ongoing education equivalent to four continuing education credits every two years that focus on your field of employment or the equipment you’re using. Online coursework from At Leisure qualifies, making it a breeze to stay up to date on your mass hoisting license renewal. At Leisure’s hoisting license courses are self-paced, including electronic renewal submission for returning users, and are even mobile-friendly so you can study on the go. Ready to break into the world of hoisting the safe and easy way? Study the essentials with At Leisure and prepare for your MA hoisting license exam today.