FL Construction Contractor - 14 Hour Continuing Education

$89.00

Please login or register to take this course.
FL Construction Contractor - 14 Hr. Continuing Education

 

This is a self-paced course, which allows you to complete the material anytime, from anywhere, and has been approved by the FL Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB). The 14 hour continuing education package includes everything you need for you renewal and is available for all Construction General, Building and Residential Contractors.

This course was written by an industry expert and has received excessive praise by past customers for being highly engaging and informative. Completion of this course results in immediate access to your "certificate of completion".

License Type: 0630
Ind/Org #: 11113424
Course #: 0612077
PVD #: 1362

1. Topics Pertaining to Work Place Safety
The following section will cover current OSHA standards and requirements as applicable to the Construction Industry and Work Place Safety.

  • OSHA Standards for the Construction Industry
  • Criteria for Personal Protective Equipment
  • OSHA Standards for the Construction Industry - Tools, Hand and Power

2. Topics Pertaining to Workers Compensation
The following section will cover important business areas;

  • Workers' Compensation Insurance Requirements
  • Basic Contract Content and Development
  • Managing Contracts and Invoices
  • Identifying and Mitigating Risk

3. Topics Pertaining to Business Practices
The following section will cover important business areas;

  • Reading and Understanding Plans
  • Reading and Understanding Trade Specific Plans
  • Managing and Communicating with Clients
  • Basic Project Management
  • Basic Scheduling Concepts

4. Topics Pertaining to Florida Lien Laws
The following sections will cover important Florida Statutes, Lien Laws, and Constitution including The 2016 Florida Statue, Title 6: Civil Practice ad Procedure, Chapter 49: Construction Service of Process;

  • General Liens - Chapter 49 Constructive Service of Process
  • Construction Lien & Miscellaneous Liens
  • Oil and Gas Liens & Florida Uniform Federal and Lien Registration Act

5. Topics Pertaining to General Construction Safety
Construction Safety - The following sections will cover important topics in Construction Safety;

  • Energy Standards IECC2009 - Development, Adoption and Maintenance addressing the design of energy-efficient buildings envelopes and installation of energy efficient mechanical, lighting and power systems through requirements emphasizing performance
  • Lead Safe Practices - Department of Labor Standards, De-leading and Lead-Safe Renovation
  • OSHA Subpart H - Rigging equipment for material handling
  • OSHA Subpart N - Material hoists, personnel hoists, and elevators
  • OSHA Subpart O - Motor Vehicles, Mechanized Equipment, and Marine Operations
  • OSHA Subpart W - Rollover protective structures (ROPS) for material handling equipment

6. Topics Pertaining to Wind Mitigation Methodologies
The following sections will cover important topics in Wind Mitigation Methodologies in Florida; Advanced Wind Mitigation Methodologies

  • Installation techniques for hurricane mitigation retrofitting, Prescriptive Techniques for the installation of Gable‐end Bracing
  • Strengthening and fastening Roof Decking Attachments, and Secondary Water Barriers for Roofs
  • Learn how to visualize a continuous load path. Outline various methods for improving roof‐to‐wall connections
  • Review opening protection requirements and discuss approved products for opening protections

7. 2014 Advanced FBC Significant Changes
This course presents the significant code changes from the 2010 Florida Building Code to the 2014 Florida Building Code. The course highlights the differences and includes base code changes in the 2012 International Building Codes and the Florida specific changes.

Course Features & Benefits:

This self-paced course is broken down into modules and can be started/stopped at anytime. Your course progress will be automatically saved, so you can login from anywhere and resume your course material. Each section will contain a quiz and will require a score of 70% or better to advance to the next section. Once the course is completed, the user will gain immediate access to their certificate of completion.

We didn't take the cheap route; we paid for a professional reader in a studio to provide you with optional audio narration. No computer voice. No echo. Just a soft, pleasant voice to read to you, if you choose.

Don't have time to finish your course(s) in one sitting? Don't worry about it. Our "bookmark" feature will automatically save your progress down to the exact location - so all you have to do is click "resume" when you're ready to continue on.

Access your course at any time, and experience our custom built Learning Management Software (LMS). To learn more about our LMS, and what it will be like taking our online class, click here

Access your account and complete your course(s) from any Internet-enabled device, any time, any place.

We don't timestamp refund requests. As long as you haven't completed your continuing education course(s), we'll issue you a full refund. No hassle, guaranteed!

You don't need to be a computer expert to use our platform. Our entire site was built with the comprehension that "ease of use" is rule number one. Still, you may decide you want some help, and we are a quick phone call away. We receive a LOT of positive feedback for our customer support, so rest assured, you're in good hands.

It's as cool as it sounds ... setup custom alerts for your licenses and be notified by text or email before your license is going to expire. This feature can be used for any license that you hold.

Resources:
  1. Do I have to renew an inactive license?
    You must renew your inactive license every two years.
  2. When do I renew my qualified business license?
    As of October 1, 2009, qualified business licenses are no longer required. You are not required to renew or maintain the qualified business license.
  3. What does current, active status mean?
    Your contractor’s license is current and you may practice within your scope of work.
  4. What does current, inactive status mean?
    Your contractor’s license is current, but you are not actively practicing within the construction profession.
  5. What does delinquent, active status mean?
    Your contractor’s license was not renewed by the expiration date. The status of your license before the expiration date was active. You may not practice with this license until the status has been updated.
  6. What does delinquent, inactive status mean?
    Your contractor’s license was not renewed by the expiration date. The status of your license before the expiration date was inactive.
  7. How do I reactivate my inactive license?
    You must complete the Department’s reactivation application, submit the reactivation fee and provide proof of completing the continuing education requirements for the renewal cycle immediately preceding your license reactivation.
  8. Can I reactivate my null and void license?
    Generally, you must start the licensure process over. If you are certified, you must retake the state contractor’s examination. However, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) has discretion to reinstate the certification of a licensee who failed to renew as a result of illness or economic hardship. The Department has discretion on a case-by-case basis to determine illness and economic hardship. To apply, you must submit a reinstatement application. Applications can be found online here.
  9. When I reapply, will I be able to get my old license number back?
    If your license is reinstated because of illness or hardship, you may keep the old license number. If the board does not reinstate your license and you reapply, you will receive a new license number, because the old license no longer exists.
  10. What are the fees to renew my certified and registered contractor’s license?
    • Current, active (individual) - $209.00
    • Current, Active(qualifying business) - $259.00
    • Delinquent, active (individual) - $309.00
    • Delinquent, Active(qualifying business) - $359.00 • Current, inactive - $59.00
    • Delinquent, inactive $218.00
  11. When do I renew my license?
    Certified contractors renew their licenses on August 31 of every even-numbered year. Registered contractors renew their licenses August 31 of every odd-numbered year.
  12. What is the application fee for a contractor to reactivate outside of a renewal period?
    The fee is $250.00.
  13. What is the fee for a contractor to become inactive outside a renewal period?
    The fee is $50.00. Please note that there is no fee required to become inactive during a renewal period.
  1. What are the CE requirements for license renewal?
    All contractors are required, as a part of the 14 hours of continuing education, to have at least one hour in each of the following areas of study: Workplace Safety, Workers' Compensation, Business Practices, Advanced Module Building Code, and Laws and Rules. Additionally General, Building, Residential, Roofing, Specialty Structure, and Glass and Glazing Specialty contractors must complete one hour of Wind Mitigation Methodology as part of their required 14- hours. The remaining are classified as general credits.
  2. Do I have to complete continuing education courses for each renewal cycle my license was inactive in order to reactivate my license?
    No. In 2012, the Florida Legislature passed House Bill 517 to limit reactivation requirements for licensed contractors to no more than one renewal cycle of continuing education. Therefore, a contractor may reactivate his or her license by completing the continuing education requirements for the renewal cycle immediately preceding license reactivation.
  3. Do I still need to take the Florida Building Code Core Course?
    No. Sections 489.115 and 553.841 of the Florida Statutes were amended to by the Florida Legislature to remove the core course requirement in 2009.
  4. I am changing my license status to inactive. Am I required to maintain my continuing education?
    No. However, when you reactivate your license, you must show proof of completing 14 hours of continuing education for the renewal cycle immediately preceding reactivation of your license. Included in the 14 hours, you must show that you have complied with all requirements for your license type.
Image: 
Price: $89.00
State: 
Florida